Charlie Award

The Charlie Award for Cooperative Political Action

These are cooperatives that have 100% of their directors and the general manager contribute a minimum of $100 each to TACC-PAC in one year, with the total contribution being a minimum of $1,000. The award is named in honor of former U.S. Congressman Charles Stenholm, who is credited with establishing TACC-PAC.


With increasing pressure to find additional state funds for an ever-expanding Texas population and given the negative impacts of redistricting upon rural Texans, it is imperative that cooperatives rise to a new level of political participation and access. This new, aggressive program is a major step in that direction.

State agricultural groups like the Texas Farm Bureau, Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and the Texas Cattle Feeders Association are already at these levels. With this kind of commitment and money, they have also achieved exceptional levels of access, influence and domination for an ultimate good. Given the structure and grassroots nature of the industry, many leaders feel it is time for cooperatives to join in this level of political muscle.


A cooperative must contribute a minimum $1,000 in total and the general manager and each director of the organization must submit a minimum $100 contribution within a January 1-December 31 time frame.


The concept originated when the TACC Legislative and Governmental Affairs Committee took it upon themselves to conduct a four-year strategic plan in December 2001. One of the results of that meeting was the urgency to create such a mechanism to bring COOPERATIVE political action to a higher level.

ALL-TIME Charlie Award Members 

  • Ag Producers Co-op – Bushland
  • Associated Cotton Growers – Crosbyton
  • Brownfield Farmers Co-op Station – Brownfield
  • Dumas Co-op – Dumas
  • EdCot Co-op Gin – Odem
  • Farmers Cooperative Association – O’Donnell
  • Floydada Co-op Gin – Floydada
  • Gulf Compress – Corpus Christi
  • Hereford Grain Corp – Hereford
  • Lockney Co-op Gin – Lockney
  • Northeast Texas Farmers Co-op – Sulphur Springs
  • Planter’s Grain Cooperative – Odem
  • Producers Cooperative Association – Bryan
  • Producers Co-op Elevator – Floydada
  • PYCO Industries, Inc. – Lubbock
  • Slaton Co-op Gin – Slaton
  • Smith Gin Co-op – Odem
  • United Agricultural Cooperative – El Campo
  • United Cotton Growers Co-op – Levelland
  • Wall Co-op Gin – Wall

Print our membership form that may be accessed from the link listed below. Send the completed form and all monies (cash and personal checks only) and contributor names and addresses to:

Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council
Political Action Committee (TACC-PAC)
1210 San Antonio Street, Suite 101
Austin, Texas 78701

or contact us at:

(512) 450-0555

TACC-PAC Membership Form

%d bloggers like this: