# WHY SHOULD YOUR CO-OP JOIN?

- The structure of the co-op business model, where farmers and ranchers are the owners and control the business, make it a ripe and **EFFECTIVE** tool for government action.
- We no longer have a choice, and cannot continue to sit on the sidelines hoping things work out!
- Many people believe they are a small fish in a huge ocean and can have little impact in the political process. However, "rural folks" had a great impact on the 2022 congressional and Texas statewide elections.
- By joining a group category, the co-op receives special recognition at the annual state co-op convention.
- Can you imagine the powerful political movement one co-op could bring to agriculture if each member contributed just 50 cents for each of their acres to protect the industry?

#### 2023 100% Club Members

Central Rolling Plains Co-op - Roscoe Midway Gin & Grain Co-op - Taft New Home Co-op Gin - New Home Owens Cooperative Gin - Ralls Texas Star Co-op Gin - Slaton Woodsboro Farmers Co-op - Woodsboro

#### **2023 Charlie Award Members**

Brownfield Farmers Co-op Station - Brownfield EdCot Co-op Gin - Odem Farmers Cooperative Compress - Lubbock Gulf Compress - Corpus Christi Hereford Grain Corp - Hereford Midkiff Farmers Co-op - Midkiff Northeast Texas Farmers Co-op - Sulphur Springs Planter's Grain Cooperative - Odem Producers Cooperative Association - Bryan Producers Co-op Elevator - Floydada PYCO Industries, Inc. - Lubbock United Agricultural Cooperative, Inc. - El Campo

#### **2023 Capitol Solos**

Dolle Barker Kevin Brinkley Tommy Engelke Cary Eubanks Rex Ford Cris Gwinn Dwight Jackson Christy Lewis

Keith Lucas Freddie Maxwell Joe Patranella Randy Reid Curtis Stewart Robert Swize Charley Triplett Darren Turley

# TEXAS AGRICULTURAL COOPERATIVE COUNCIL

# Political Action Committee



### **History**

TACC board member and former U.S. Congressman Charles Stenholm of Stamford has long been recognized as the "Father of TACC-PAC" since its concept originated with his initial intent to run for national office in 1978. However, the PAC became much more visible begining in the mid-1980s when PAC fundraising breakfast and luncheons were established at the Joint Cooperative Meeting.

# <u>Membership</u>

A member can be a director, employee or patron of a Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council member-organization who contributes to TACC-PAC. Checks should be made payable to "TACC-PAC".

#### <u>100% Club</u>

Started in 1993, the 100% Club was formed to recognize those cooperatives that have 100% of their directors and general manager contribute a minimum of \$25 each into the state co-op political action committee in one year.

#### **Charlie Award**

Cooperatives that have 100% of their directors and the general manager contribute a minimum of \$100 each into TACC-PAC in one year, with the cooperative in total contributing a minimum of \$1,000. The award is named in honor of TACC Director and former U.S. Congressman Charles Stenholm.

#### **Capitol Solo**

Individuals that contributed \$100 or more to TACC-PAC during the year, but were not associated with one of the two PAC categories. "When we come together in support of a greater cause than any of our individual businesses or rural communities, we are able to achieve monumental things.

Seth Stephens, Charlie Award contributor, TACC Legislative & Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman and general manager of Producers Cooperative Elevator in Floydada, Texas.

"Contributing to the TACC-PAC is our co-op's way to have our voices heard and be part of the political process that preserves our industry."

**April Graves,** Charlie Award contributor, TACC Immediate Past President and Controller of United Agricultural Cooperative, Inc. in El

Campo Texas.

## **Board of Trustees:**

TACC-PAC is governed by a fivemember board of trustees consisting of the immediate past-president, president, vice-president, secretary and chairman of the Legislative and Governmental Affairs Committee of TACC. The TACC executive vice-

president serves as the administrator and campaign treasurer of TACC-PAC.

# 2023 TACC-PAC Board of

#### **Trustees:**

**Greg O'Brian**, Friona **Aaron Hendricks**, Floydada **Eric Wanjura**, Lubbock **April Graves**, El Campo **Seth Stephens**, Floydada

### <u>Texas Agricultural</u> <u>Cooperative Council</u>

1111 North I-H 35, Suite 208 Round Rock, Texas 78664 512-450-0555 -- Office

Christy Lewis - Executive Vice President Raley Kirk - Director of Member Services

